Adulting or “I floss now”

I’ve heard that adulting is a term for the millennials but I think it applies to everyone.  I mean, feeding and caring for a human, even if that human happens to be you, is not the easiest thing in the world.   Take just the feeding portion.  All day, every day we are being advertised to by companies whose main goal is to make a profit by selling us food-like products.  Our brains are wired to respond to food cues with hunger.  The food in turn has addictive and super palatable qualities that make us want more and nutritionally we are starving because our bodies don’t recognize it as food.  And that’s just for ONE meal.

Two documentaries I recommend people check out.   Hungry for Change and Fed Up.  Both will make you pretty angry, especially Fed Up.  My hope is that we can fight against food lobbies the way we did with tobacco and finally start making changes because obesity, particularly childhood obesity, is killing our population.  Not to mention that our planet could be spared if we all went vegetarian until 6pm.  Vegan is even better.  Note: I am not, currently, vegan.  I’m just saying – it’s true.  OK, off soapbox.

My point is that change starts with one person.  And for a very long part of my adult life, I didn’t “feel like” taking care of myself.  I ate mostly healthy, but I drank too much and I smoked.  I exercised a decent amount and even completed a bunch of half marathons, mostly so I could travel to a city and feel like the trip was “partly healthy”.  I wasn’t willing to fully commit. Hell, I didn’t even floss.  Now I floss.  And that’s a big deal.  I’m not sure why it took me so long but adding in these little habits and just making them daily practices is having pretty amazing impacts.

I’m 8 days away from the end of my first month.  I feel leaner, my clothes are looser and I sleep really really well.  I’m active and haven’t binged on anything in a long time.  I’m thinking of making every month have a theme or some kind of new thing I try.  For my 2nd month, that will either be intermittent fasting one day per week or going vegan.  I’m really not sure which way I’m going to go.  If you have an opinion, feel free to share it.

I realized I haven’t been blogging all that much so this post was kind of to let anyone who is reading know I’m still at it.  It’s just that I’ve been so busy living my life that I haven’t really had a lot of time to, you know, write about it.  Until next time!

Leave a Reply

